## COUNCIL

Monday, 10 July 2023

Present: The Civic Mayor (Councillor Jerry Williams) in the

Chair

Deputy Civic Mayor (Councillor Cherry Povall, JP)

Councillors E Lamb C Baldwin J Johnson L Luxon-Kewley T Jones P Basnett M Jordan JE Green G Bennett S Bennett S Kelly **G** Davies J Bird B Kenny B Hall G Jenkinson M Booth J Stewart Laing I Lewis P Jobson A Brame

H Cameron J McManus T Laing C Carubia P Martin C McDonald P Cleary S Mountney G McManus C Cooke A Onwuemene R Molyneux K Murphy A Davies S Powell-Wilde GJ Davies L Rennie Murphy S Foulkes J Robinson R Pitt A Gardner P Stuart Raymond P Gilchrist Jason Walsh M Skillicorn

J Williamson

K Stuart

M Sullivan

E Tomeny

EA Grey V Wilson
A Hodson G Wood
K Hodson A Ainsworth

Apologies Councillors T Cox D Kenny
N Graham M Redfern

N Graham J Grier

### 14 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

H Gorman

The Civic Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and those watching the webcast. He then asked Members to consider whether they had any disclosable pecuniary and/or any other relevant interest in connection with any matters to be determined at this meeting and, if so, to declare it and state the nature of such interest.

No such declarations were made.

#### 15 CIVIC MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Civic Mayor announced that apologies had been received from Councillors Tony Cox, Naomi Graham, Judith Grier, Daisy Kenny and Mike Redfern.

#### 16 CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

The Council considered the recommendations from the Regulatory and General Purposes Committee held on 7 June 2023 (minute 9 refers) in relation to the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Dave Mitchell and Tony Smith, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The report informed that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provided that the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman might be conferred by the Council on persons who were persons of distinction and/or who had, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the place or area. The title was to be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting on it at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose.

It was moved by Councillor Andrew Hodson and seconded by Councillor Stephen Bennett that the Council be recommended to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors Dave Mitchell and Tony Smith in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Several Councillors made speeches about the two Councillors, who had both served as Civic Mayor of Wirral. Members spoke of the 40 years of continuous service that Dave Mitchell had achieved on the Council, and his extensive knowledge and dedication to the Licensing process. Members further recalled Tony Smith's service as a retired teacher and educational psychologist which gave him the requisite skills to serve as cabinet member for Children's Services.

Following speeches, the motion was put to the vote, and it was -

Resolved (unanimously) - That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Dave Mitchell and Tony Smith in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

# 17 HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH (POSTHUMOUS AWARD) – PAUL O'GRADY MBE DL

The Council considered a report from the Director of Law and Governance in respect to a proposal to admit posthumously, Paul O'Grady MBE DL, as an Honorary Freeman of the Borough.

The recommendation was in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972 and in recognition of his dedicated service to the Borough, that Paul O'Grady MBE DL be posthumously admitted as Honorary Freeman of this Borough.

Several Councillors spoke in relation to the achievements of Paul O'Grady, and the significant contributions that had had made to television, animal welfare, LGBTQ+ rights and to the borough of Wirral and that receiving the nomination of Honorary Freeman of the Borough recognised these significant contributions.

Following the speeches from Councillors, it was -

Resolved (unanimously) – That in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972, that Paul O'Grady MBE DL be posthumously admitted as Honorary Freeman of this Borough.